| en español |
The Crocodilians
Orden Crocodylia
Family Crocodylidae

The American Alligator


The Zoo


The crocodilians are repitles with four legs, very similar to the lizards. They are rather large and on their back, running from the neck to the tail, we can see bony ridges. Still, they are better known for their aggresiveness, and in the case of the larger species, for the threat they can be to human beings.

These reptiles remain in the water most of the time. They are capable of opening their mouth and swallow underwater without drowning. Caimans, alligators and gavials inhabit fresh water. The crocodiles can be founded on both, fresh and salt water. The caimans and alligators are aggresive but the crocodiles are super aggressive. While the gavials are totally harmless.

The crocodilians reproduce by eggs. They build a nest, a small mountain of leaves and soil, close by the water. The mother guards the nest and the youngsters with extreme ferocity. Be very aware not to disturb a mother crocodilian at this time, it could be a very bad experience, for you.

The crocodilians are estudied in three groups according to some characteristics of their bodies and behavior.

American Alligator
Chinese Alligator

Black Caiman
Broad-snouted Caiman
Dwarf Caiman
Smooth-fronted Caiman
Spectacled Caiman
Yacare Caiman

False Gharial

American Crocodile
Australian Fresh Water Crocodile
Cuban Crocodile
Dwarf Crocodile
Morelet's Crocodile
Mugger Crocodile
New Guinea Crocodile
Nile Crocodile
Orinoco Crocodile
Philippine Crocodile
Saltwater Crocodile
Siamese Crocodile
Slender-snouted Crocodile

More information on the Crocodilians:
| Links in: | English | Espanish |

Thanks for visiting

Last Revision: August 1, 2003
Release: A.30 Todos los Derechos Reservados

Copyright © 1999-2003 by Mariano Jimenez II and Mariano G. Jiménez and its licensors
All rights reserved